Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Good Mornin' Campers!
10-06-2006, 09:24 PM
Good Mornin' Campers!

Me and Luke (my 12 year old son) are off camping next weekend in a tent that my friend has given us. We are very excited cos it's our first time. If we enjoy it I'm planning a couple of other weeks away during the summer.

I've just joined a "tenting" website to get a few tips and who knows I might give them a few tips once I'm an expert!

Do we have any other campers who do it under canvas? What are the best things and the worst things?

... i only came online to visit Delia's site for tips on how to season a frying pan ...
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-06-2006, 05:43 AM
Good Mornin' Campers!
Mr SB and myself have been campers for years and really love it. One of the things we do is make a " camping list " of all the things we need to take with us. This is kept on the computer and printed out each time we go. It`s just really the little things that you always forget. If possible always choose flat ground, sleeping on a hill or slope is not comfortable. No matter how hot the weather is always take something warm for the evening/night because once the sun goes in and the grass starts going damp it will be cold.

Give it a few goes before you decide if you love it or hate it. You don`t want to buy loads of gear after the 1st time out to find out a few weeks later it`s not for you.

The weather of course makes all the difference when camping. Sitting out late into the night and enjoying early morning sunshine is far better than being stuck in the tent whilst it`s lashing down.

Have fun
Find all posts by this user
11-06-2006, 08:20 AM
Good Mornin' Campers!
Roughing it eh Dol! It's great fun camping, just don't do what i did once and go camping in Cornwall when gale force winds are about.

Hope you and your son have great fun.