Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
How many times....
22-07-2005, 11:47 PM
How many times....

Have you written something in a post then deleted it before you post it?

I was about to write something in a thread (not a serious one, just a silly remark) and then thought twice about how it can come across, so I deleted it.
It really only was a funny comment (well I thought so) but then on reading it again, I thought of other ways it could be interpreted.

I was talking to hubby earlier about how people are perceived on a forum like this, and he mentioned about how different it is to talking face to face.
On this forum I find certain peoples sense of humour really funny, but when I reply I'm not sure if people realise my sense of humour (I'm not very good at expressing myself and i'm sure the way I word things could be construed in a totally different way) and I must say I back off a little bit, not because I'm hiding myself, but because I don't want to upset anyone.

I know we've had threads like this before, but more on a serious side of things.
This is more of a case of, can you get you sense of humour across on a forum?
I know I see others sense of humour and some of you lot make me laugh hilariously. (no I'm not naming names)

I guess it's all in the way you post things.
I'm rubbish at explaining myself in real life as in here, hence the long post for a minor point of view:w00t:

[Image: 429.gif]
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
23-07-2005, 12:26 AM
How many times....
I'm very similar...and I also must say I do not submit a lot of posts that I start. Sometimes things sound so much better in your head...then when you write it out you wonder if it makes sense at all...lol.

And I always wonder if people are going to even get that what I said was a joke...which is why nearly all my posts and chats online with people have "lol" in them after nearly every sentence..lol...