Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Jury Service
24-03-2005, 06:46 PM
Jury Service

I got 'the call up' today.

I have been requested to turn up at the Crown Court at the end of May for a possible two week stint.
I have replied asking for a deferral as I would struggle to get child care sorted for that length of time and bearing in mind that the second week is half term - I would really struggle then.

My questions to you all -

Have you been called up?
Did you do it?
How did it go?
Did you ask for deferral/exemption and did you get it??
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
24-03-2005, 06:51 PM
Jury Service
Buzz it is my dream to get called up for Jury Service - but I am now exempt. I will never get the call. Being an ex-police officer I would never be deemed as unbiased.

I always cook with wine, and sometimes I actually put it in the food.
[Image: pot002.gif]

Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
24-03-2005, 07:01 PM
Jury Service
I've never done it - but I would love a really juicy case to get my teeth into Big Grin

[insert signature here]
24-03-2005, 07:08 PM
Jury Service
I think you need a very good reason to opt out Buzz. I'm not saying needing to care for your child isn't an excellent reason, just that if everyone who was called who also looked after their children some or all of the time was exempt, there'd never be any women on the juries!

Sorry to but a dampner on it, and I wish you luck.
24-03-2005, 07:23 PM
Jury Service
Nox Wrote:I think you need a very good reason to opt out Buzz. I'm not saying needing to care for your child isn't an excellent reason, just that if everyone who was called who also looked after their children some or all of the time was exempt, there'd never be any women on the juries!

Very good point foxy noxy, hadn't thought of it like that. Buzz you must go and wave the flag.
24-03-2005, 08:00 PM
Jury Service